Quote of the Day – Chris Christie Edition Part 2

“And I’m disturbed by people who believe that because her ultimate demise, and we don’t know what is the cause of her death yet, but because of her history of substance abuse, that somehow she’s forfeited the good things that she did in her life. I just reject that on a human level, when I’ve seen these messages and e-mails that have come to me, you know, disparaging her for her struggles with substance abuse, and what I say to everybody is, there but for the grace of God go I.”

Gov. Chris Christie on the flap that some are making about him lowering the flags at half staff on Saturday to honor New Jersey Native, Whitney Houston. 

I have zero patience for people with substance abuse problems.  I have seen with my own eyes what it does.  I have felt personal sorrow watching it destroy people.  But, as a Christian I realize that we all fall short of God’s grace.  It isn’t my place to judge people on their personal failures.  I realize that people with problems still have loved ones.  As someone who has experience loving a person with substance abuse problems who died too young I also realize that it isn’t the totality of who they are. 

Here is just a short list of charities that Ms. Houston raised money for:

The Children’s Diabetes Foundation

St. Judes Hospital

The United Negro College Fund

The Red Cross

Children’s Defense Fund

Her own foundation that did work with children with AIDS and Cancer. 

For the people who are making an issue of this, I would just ask where were you when he did the same for another New Jersey native Clarence Clemmons?  Was his cause of death more palatable for you? 

Good on you Gov. Christie.