Quote of the Day – Selfish Anonymous Dad to Be

As horrible as this might sound, we found ourselves wishing these twins away.

We considered a reduction for about 30 seconds. (That’s essentially an abortion of one twin, not both.) If you thought that IVF involved playing God, a reduction felt beyond brazen — Machiavellian, even. Give us a reason, we thought, as we had the twins tested for genetic anomalies. None came.

Two blessings, two bundles of joy. How could you not be happy, you ask? Of course I’m sympathetic to people who can’t get pregnant, or who spend a couple of years trying IVF after IVF. But having kids is a selfish endeavor, and in these cases it’s all very relative and highly personal. In our case, my wife and I know better than to think that life with three children is going to be perfect.

An anonymous dad to be.  Selfish to the bone.  Yeah it is easy for me to judge as I never had twins.  But the point is that having children isn’t a vanity thing.  It is hard work.  In many ways twins are somewhat easier because they will keep each other occupied as they grow and mature.  I do have friends that have twins, and not one of them has ever expressed anything even remotely close to this.  We are really in sad shape as a society.

Seriously, I can think of four woman off the top of my head that cannot have children.  They would give almost anything to be in this “mess”.

RTR if you dare.  They were hoping for some genetic issues to justify aborting one.  Wow, I am sure the children will be happy as all get out to hear that story one day.