So this might come as a shock, but that’s why you have breasts.

An editor of a parenting magazine in England ignited a firestorm with her assessment of breastfeeding as “creepy.” 

From the UK Guardian:

Under the headline “I formula fed. So what?”, Kathryn Blundell says in this month’s Mother & Baby that she bottlefed her child from birth because “I wanted my body back. (And some wine)… I also wanted to give my boobs at least a chance to stay on my chest rather than dangling around my stomach.”

She goes on to say: “They’re part of my sexuality, too – not just breasts, but fun bags. And when you have that attitude (and I admit I made no attempt to change it), seeing your teeny, tiny, innocent baby latching on where only a lover has been before feels, well, a little creepy.”

Heh.  You weren’t creeped out by birthing the kid, but feeding him is a problem? 

More:

She concedes that “there are all the studies that show [breastfeeding] reduces the risk of breast cancer for you, and stomach upsets and allergies for your baby. But even the convenience and supposed health benefits of breast milk couldn’t induce me to stick my nipple in a bawling baby’s mouth.”

She continues: “I don’t think I’m the only one, either – only 52% of mums still breastfeed after six weeks. Ask most of the quitters why they stopped and you’ll hear tales of agonising three-hour feeding sessions and – the drama! – bloody nipples. But I often wonder whether many of these women, like me, just couldn’t be fagged or felt like getting tipsy once in a while.”

The drama, indeed.  Breastfeeding does more than prevent allergies.   According to the May issue of the American Journal of Physiology, Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology, breast milk triggers immune protection by improving gene function.  Yes, genetic function. 

Read the rest at politicaljunkie Mom.  It’s absolutely fascinating.

(And not the least bit creepy).

H/T Hot Air Headlines